Contact Us

BaytonChurch of England

Primary School

School Calendar
Latest News

School Updates

Swipe content


Whole School


Our curriculum

Our Early Years Curriculum


Children in our Reception class follow Curriculum Guidance for The Early Years Foundation Stage (Sept 2012). There are 7 areas of learning and development that must shape educational programmes in early years settings.

 The 3 Prime Areas are:

·         Communication & Language

·         Physical Development

·         Personal, Social, Emotional Development


In additions to these, there are a further 4 Specific Areas through which the Prime Areas are strengthened and applied.


The Specific Areas are:

·         Literacy

·         Mathematics

·         Understanding the World

·         Expressive Arts and Design


The children will have opportunities for learning and experiencing the above through a more ’play based’ learning environment. At the end of the year the children are then assessed against the development within the Early Learning Goals. 


PRIME AREAS – These areas of learning most essential for children’s readiness for future learning and healthy development.

1. Communication and Language
Developing confidence and skills to express themselves and to speak and listen in a range of situations.

2. Physical Development
Developing co-ordination, control and movement, understanding the importance of physical activity and making healthy food choices.

3. Personal, Social and Emotional Development
Developing a positive sense of themselves, forming positive relationships, developing respect for others, developing social skills, learning how to manage feelings, understanding appropriate behaviour in groups and having confidence in their own abilities.


4. Literacy
Linking sounds to letters, beginning to read and write and developing their interest in a wide range of reading materials.

5. Mathematics
Developing counting skills, understanding and using numbers, calculating simple addition and subtraction problems and describing shapes, spaces and measures.

6. Understanding the World
Making sense of their physical world and community by exploring, observing and finding out about people, places, technology and the environment.

7. Expressive Arts and Design
Exploring a wide range of media and materials, sharing their thoughts, feelings and ideas through art, music, movement, dance, role-play and design technology.


The characteristics of learning:

The characteristics of effective learning describe factors which play a central role in a child’s learning and in becoming an effective learner. They are vital elements of support for the transition process from EYFS to Year 1. The characteristics of learning run through and underpin all seven areas of learning and development, representing processes rather than outcomes. Information describing the child’s characteristics of effective learning will provide Year 1 teachers with vital background and context when considering the child’s next stage of development and future learning needs.

They are based 3 areas:

Playing and exploring

  • Finding out and exploring
  • Using what they know in their play
  • Being willing to have a go

Active learning

  • Being involved and concentrating
  • Keeping on trying
  • Enjoying achieving what they set out to do

Creating and thinking critically

  • Having their own ideas
  • Using what they already know to learn new things
  • Choosing ways to do things and finding new ways

Your child will access all of the learning areas through planned purposeful play that has a balance of adult-led and child-initiated activities. Each area has its own set of Early Learning Goals which cover the knowledge, skills and understanding that most children are expected to have achieved by the end of Reception.

3 7 8 0 4 Visitors

Be the best you can be, as a child of God